Shelby Urban County

Shelby County has qualified as an entitlement jurisdiction for Fiscal Years 2024-2026 which means it is eligible to receive Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding from the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The County signed cooperation agreements with the following participating municipalities to create the Urban County: Alabaster, Calera, Chelsea, Columbiana, Harpersville, Helena, Indian Springs Village, Montevallo, Pelham, Vincent, Westover, Wilsonville, and Wilton. The geographic area of the Shelby Urban County covers the unincorporated areas of Shelby County and the full corporate boundaries of these municipalities. Thus, the geographic area of the Shelby Urban County includes portions of Chilton County (Calera), Jefferson County (Helena), St. Clair County (Vincent), and Talladega County (Vincent). Shelby County’s program year will run from October 1 through September 30.

A Policy Board comprised of fourteen representatives (County and each participating municipality) has been created to guide the development of the CDBG planning process and recommend actions to the Shelby County Commission. Final responsibility and authority lie with the Shelby County Commission.

The CDBG Program is intended to address the needs for public facilities, economic development, housing, public services, and other eligible activities in unincorporated areas and within participating municipalities in the Shelby Urban County. All activities funded through this program are designed to support HUD’s National Objectives that:

  • Benefit to low- and moderate-income (LMI) persons;
  • Aid in the prevention or elimination of slums or blight; and
  • Meet an urgent need.

Take Needs Assessment Survey